All About Nutrition

Food Groups

There are six food groups which need to be consumed on a daily basis as part of good nutrition.

Nutritional guidelines recommend eating a variety of foods from all the six food groups, in specific amounts, to ensure good nutrition is maintained for all ages and genders.

The main food groups are:


The guides here contain the portions required to maintain good health through a nutritionally balanced diet.

The healthy eating pyramid below shows the proportions of foods to eat on a daily basis (there is also one for those with dietary restrictions, such as vegetarians) to make healthy food choices.

Another important nutrient that is required is water - 8 glasses a day at least, to keep the body hydrated properly.


Follow VitalHealthZone on Twitter Bookmark and Share


Enjoy better health!